Home » Knowledge » Content
Product Categories

Porcelain Auspicious Patterns - Eight Auspicious Patterns

- Apr 16, 2018-

The eight auspicious patterns, also known as the “eight treasure patterns”, are typical porcelain decorative patterns with religious significance, and are based on eight auspicious patterns. The eight auspicious designs are: Falun, Falu, Baozi, Baigai, Lotus, Aquarius, Goldfish, and Plate-length knots. They are eight pieces of artifacts commonly used by the Buddhist family to symbolize auspiciousness. Referred to as "round, screw, umbrella, cover, flower, cylinder, fish, intestine." There is also Xianjia Babao, which is the magic body of the Eight Immortals. For fish drums, swords, flower baskets, fences, gourds, fans, yin and yang plates, and flute, a total of eight treasures. Also called "eight treasures."

    Eight auspicious patterns were circulated by Tibetan Lamaism. In the Falun, the Buddha said that ^*** was transferred to a robbery; Falu, Buddha said Bodhisattva Bodhisattva Bodhisattva Mascot; Treasure Umbrella, Buddha said that Zhang Chi freely bent over all beings; White Gai, the Buddha said to cover all three clean All medicine things; lotus, Buddha said five things that have nothing to dye; treasure bottle (can), the Buddha said that blessings are complete with nothing; golden fish, Buddha said that lively and detachable; The long knot of the Buddha, Buddha said that the ring carries out everything that is bright.

    The eight auspicious patterns were first seen in the Longquan kiln celadon of the Yuan Dynasty and the kiln eggs white enamel porcelain of Jingdezhen. The performance technique was printing, and there was no certain rule for pattern arrangement. During the Ming and Qing Dynasties, it was more popular. It was often patterned with lotus flowers, and it was used as a figure of eight auspicious compositions for holding a piece of lotus root or wrapping branches of lotus flowers. It is mostly used as a theme ornament, but also as a secondary ornament on the shoulders of the objects. During the Ming and Qing Dynasties, Jingdezhen Porcelain mostly depicted eight auspicious patterns with blue and white flowers, buckets, multicolored and pastels, and the patterns were standardized. In the early and mid-Ming Dynasty, the order was: rounds, snails, umbrellas, covers, flowers, fish, bottles (cans), long knots; the order of the late Ming Dynasty to the Qing Dynasty was: rounds, snails, umbrellas, covers, flowers, bottles (cans) , fish, long knots. After the Qing Emperor Qianlong, he also saw eight auspicious patterns that disturbed the above order, and burned out eight independent and auspicious feeders. Each of the eight auspicious lotus-shaped bases was solemn and solemn.

     The eight auspicious maps, known in the Tibetan language as “Zhaxi Dajie”, are a kind of combined paintings that are most common in Tibetan painting and give profound connotations. Mostly used in the form of murals, gold and silver bronze sculptures, wood carvings and sculptures, the logos of these eight mascots are closely related to the Buddha or the Dharma. The eight auspicious figures are: Treasure umbrella, goldfish, treasure bottle, lotus flower, white conch, lucky knot, victory block, gold wheel.


    In ancient India, when aristocrats and royal family members traveled, they used an umbrella to cover the sun and later evolved into a ceremonial apparatus, which symbolized supreme authority. Buddhism symbolizes obscurity by the umbrella and protects the Buddha. Tibetan Buddhism also believes that the treasure umbrella symbolizes the authority of the Buddha teachings.


    Fish line water, smooth without hindrance. Buddhism uses it to symbolize the practitioners who have transcended the world and are free and open-minded. In Tibetan Buddhism, a pair of goldfish symbolizes the situation of liberation and symbolizes recovery, immortality, and regeneration.


    The bottles in the Tibetan Buddhist temple contain purified water (and nectar) and gemstones, and peacock worms or ruyi trees are inserted in the bottles. In other words, it symbolizes auspiciousness, cleanliness, and fortune. It also symbolizes treasure, perfection, perfection, and immortality.


    Lotus does not stain the sludge until it is clear to pure. Tibetan Buddhism believes that the lotus symbolizes the ultimate goal, that is, the correct result.

    White Conch

    The scriptures contained Sakyamuni's saying that it sounded like a sound of conch. As a result, the conch is often blown at this time of the Fa Conference. In Tibet, the most respected D. whitish conch is regarded as a symbol of fame and triumph in the world. It also symbolizes the sound of Dharma's reverberation (music is very moving).

    Lucky knot

    The auspicious knot symbolizes love and devotion in its original meaning. Near Buddhist interpretations, the Auspicious End also symbolizes that if you follow the Buddha, you will be able to recover wisdom pearls and enlightenment treasures from the sea of survival.

    Victory Building

    A flag for ancient India. Buddhism used the implied meaning of the buildings to get rid of the roots, and to realize the truth. Tibetan Buddhism also uses its metaphors to describe the eleven kinds of troubles in governing power, namely, abstention, conclusiveness, wisdom, liberation, great sadness, empty hopelessness, convenience, selflessness, realization, prejudice, and blessing of Buddha. Self-cleaning.

    Gold wheel

    In ancient India, the wheel was a powerful weapon and was later borrowed by Buddhism. It symbolized that the Dharma was spinning like a wheel and never stopped.

These eight patterns can be individually formed or can be piled up into a single overall pattern. This whole pattern is known in Tibetan as “Dangpoonsu” and it means auspicious Eight Diagrams.